Harry Kane Makes Ballon D’Or List

Five Premier League Players On List

Harry Kane Manchester United transfer news

Harry Kane is the only Englishman amongst the first 15 names for the Ballon D’Or shortlist. However, there are no fewer than five Premier League players on the list.

Kane joins Liverpool midfielder Philippe Coutinho, Manchester City forward Kevin de Bruyne, Manchester United goalkeeper David De Gea and Chelsea midfielder N’Golo Kante as the other Premier League players on the list which was released on Monday by organisers France Football.

Three former Premier League players are also on the list: Luka Modric of Real Madrid, Luis Suarez of Barcelona and Edin Dzeko of Roma.

But the winner is expected to come from the second half of the 30-man shortlist which is expected to include Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Antoine Griezmann. Those three topped the list for 2016 with Ronaldo the red-hot favourite to retain the award.

Since 2008 the award has been won by either Ronaldo or Messi.

The full list of the first 15 names is as follows:

Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool and Brazil),
Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City and Belgium),
David de Gea (Manchester United and Spain),
Paulo Dybala(Juventus and Argentina),
Edin Dzeko (Roma and Bosnia-Herzegovina),
Harry Kane (Tottenham and England),
N’Golo Kante (Chelsea and France),
Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich and Poland),
Marcelo (Real Madrid and Brazil),
Dries Mertens (Napoli and Belgium),
Luka Modric (Real Madrid and Croatia),
Neymar (Paris St-Germain and Brazil),
Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid and Slovenia),
Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid and Spain),
Luis Suarez(Barcelona and Uruguay).