Champions League Semi-Final Draw 2016-17

Another Madrid Derby In The Champions League

Champions League draw

Real Madrid will play Atletico Madrid and Monaco take on Juventus in the draw for the semi-final of the Champions League.

It will be the fourth season on the trot that the two teams have met each other in the knockout stages of the Champions League – twice in the final. Real have prevaled on each of the three previous occasions.

Defending champions Real Madrid are looking to win a record 12th European title. They got past Bayern Munich in Tuesday night’s semi-final but not after a fright at the Bernabeu. Bayern were 2-1 up at the end of 90 minutes to put the tie at 3-3 on aggregate. But two goals in extra time from Cristiano Ronaldo and one from Marco Asensio put Real in the semi-finals for the 28th time.

Atletico Madrid are in the semi-final for the third time in four years and the sixth time in all. They drew 1-1 at Leicester City on Tuesday night to go through 2-1 on aggregate. Atletico were beaten finalists last year when they lost for the second time tO Real Madrid.

Juventus saw off Barcelona in the quarter-finals. A goalless draw in the Nou Camp on Wednesday night followed a thumping 3-0 victory in Turin last week. Juve last made the final in 2015 when they were beaten in extra-time by Barcelona.

Monaco are the surprise package in this season’s tournament. They defeated the strongly-fancied Borussia Dortmund home and away for a 6-3 aggregate victory in the quarter-final. However, this is their fourth time at the semi-final stage. They got past the semis for their only final appearance back in 2004 where they were eventually beaten by Jose Mourinho’s Porto side. They were also semi-finalists in 1994 and 1998 losing on both occasions.

The full draw is as follows:

Real Madrid v Atletico Madrid
Monaco v Juventus

The first legs will be played the week after next on 2 and 3 May 2017. The second legs will take place the following week on 9 and 10 May.

The final is at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff on 3 June 2017.